It was great when it all began!

The Royal Court Theatre, Sloane Square: 16 June, 1973, 10:30 pm . A phenomenon was about to be born. It was the first preview of a new show about what was described as a “mysterious web of mutants, tame transvestites and muscle-bound monsters” ...

The ROCKY HORROR SHOW was coming to life!

One report of that remarkable evening describes how, though it was the middle of June, “thunder rolled across a lurid sky, lightning cracked and rain swept the streets in torrents”. It was the right way to begin. ROCKY was an instant hit.

The original run was scheduled to end on 7 July. But the final performance never happened, not because it was extended but because it was cancelled. With Mick Jagger in the audience but no Rocky on stage – he didn’t have an understudy and was incapacitated when glitter found his way into his brief briefs.

The following month it opened again in King’s Road, at the dilapidated Classic Cinema Chelsea – a venue already scheduled for demolition. As Variety prophetically noted in its review, “Rocky may be destined to be a peripatetic as well as hit existence”. The it would be peripatetic was confirmed by the fact that, on 3 November, it made its way to another crumbling Chelsea cinema, the Essoldo, where it would remain before finally and at last travelling to the West End, where it opened at the Comedy Theatre on 6 April, 1979. That it was a hit existence is confirmed by the fact that when it closed on 13 September 1980, it had run for a total of 2.960 performances.

Rocky next, inevitably, travelled across the Atlantic, opening on the West Coast in Los Angeles on 24 March, 1974, scheduled for nine months, during which time the deal was set up to commit the show to celluloid. It was filmed in a mere six weeks; but when it was first launched in 1975, was a commercial failure. SO was the Broadway production in spring 1975 which closed after having given a total of only 45 performances.

But the legend lived on, and refused to go away. The film has achieved success as a cult midnight-matinee feature, in which the audience have become an essential part of the action. And the stage show has been seen everywhere in the world – Rocky has become an international symbol, a phenomenon of worldwide proportions.

Es war toll, als alles begann!

Royal Court Theatre am Sloane Square, 16. Juni 1973, 22:30 Uhr: Ein neues Phänomen war im Begriff geboren zu werden. Es war die erste öffentliche Probe einer neuen Show, die als „mysteriöses Gespinst verrückter Mutanten, zahmer Transvestiten und muskulöser Monster“ beschrieben wurde …

Die ROCKY HORROR SHOW wurde geboren!

Ein Bericht dieses unvergesslichen Abends beschreibt, wie Donner über den fahlen Himmel rollten, Blitze zuckten und Regen die Straßen in Sturzbäche verwandelte, obwohl es mitten im Juli war. Ein gelungener Auftakt. ROCKY war sofort ein Hit.

Die letzte Vorstellung war für den 7. Juli geplant, fand aber nie statt. Nicht etwa, weil die Show verlängert wurde, sondern weil die Vorstellung abgesagt wurde! Mick Jagger im Publikum, aber ohne Rocky auf der Bühne. Der, so heißt es, konnte nicht auftreten, weil zuviel Glitter in seine knappe Unterhose gerieselt war, und es gab keine Zweitbesetzung.

Bereits im nächsten Monat wurde die Show in der King’s Road wiederaufgenommen, im abbruchreifen Classic Cinema Chelsea. ‚Variety’ schrieb prophetisch: Rocky scheint dafür bestimmt umherzuziehen, wie es zum Hit bestimmt zu sein scheint. Dies bewahrheitet sich: Am 3. November machte Rocky sich auf den Weg in ein anderes verfallenes Kinogebäude, das Essoldo, und blieb dort bis zum Umzug ins Comedy Theatre im West End, am 6. April 1979. Dass Rocky ein Riesenerfolg war, bestätigte sich, als die Show am 13. September 1980 schloss: man konnte auf 2.960 Vorstellungen zurückblicken.

Es war unvermeidlich, dass Rocky auch über den Atlantik reiste. Ab 24. März wurde für neun Monate in Los Angeles gespielt. In dieser Zeit liefen auch die Verhandlungen über die Filmrechte. Die Aufnahmen dauerten nicht länger als sechs Wochen, aber als der Film 1975 startete, war er zunächst ein Flop, ebenso wie die Broadway-Produktion im Frühjahr 1975, die bereits nach 45 Vorstellungen schloss.

Aber die Legende lebte weiter und weigerte sich zu verschwinden. Der Film wurde zum Kultfilm, in dem das Publikum einen bedeutenden Anteil erhielt. Die Bühnenshow lief in der ganzen Welt – ROCKY war zum internationalen Symbol geworden, ein weltbekanntes Phänomen.