An Author's Review


Back in nineteen fiftyeight, when I was supposed to be at nightschool studying art, the nights were warm and the class was boring so I’d stop off at the late-show which was always a double feature. Here amongst the other delinquents, paradise was to be mine. “Horror on the Campus” and “I was a Teen-Aged Werewolf” were very well received. Fourteen Years later I was sitting one evening with my friend John Sinclair, who has since become a successful record producer, (and to think I knew him when he was somebody) and we discussed the thought of writing a show that we ourselves would like to go and see. We were to write it together. It was to be a collection of all the things give you a buzz. Let’s do it said John and promptly went off to open Sarm Recording Studios. Jilted, I sat home nights, writing songs and bits of dialogue. Some four months later I had the good luck to be working with Jim Sharman and Brian Thomson, the two australian wizards who made “Jesus Christ Superstar” a stage hit in London and Australia. The play we were to do was called “The Unseen Hand” written by the great Sam Shepard. I was to play “Willie the Space Freak”.

During Rehearsals I mentioned to Jim and Brian that I was writing a Rock-Horror musical that was amusing me and I added that it might do the same for them. I had no doubt about their talent. I knew they thought I was alright because they’d cast me in the play we were doing. Unabashed naivety is a strong selling point (once).

One fateful night after a rehearsal, director Jim, dragged Richard Hartley who was working on some toons for us in Unseen Hand, back to my place. Richard was enthusiastic in the cab, I remember him saying, “Oh no not another Rock-Musical”. So there I was, with my scribbled few pages and a much loved Levin guitar, on trial. I sang the opening song, “Science Fiction” and I blush to relate this, but I was made to sing it for two more times there and then, and when I’d finished the (then) slender script I had to sing that song again.

We opened for a five week season at “The Theatre Upstairs” at “The Royal Court”, and thanks to the brilliance of the cast, Sue Blane’s costume designs, Brian Thomson’s set, Richard Hartley’s arrangements and Jim Sharman’s direction. We were a sell-out and the rest is history.

My thanks to all those that get off on the show are unlimited. There is no doubt in my mind, that rocky freaks are the sanest madmen in the world...other planets ????????? well, that’s privileged information.

Yours until they come to take us away,

Richard O’Brien

Rückblick des Autors


Zurück in Neunzehnachthundfünfzig, als ich Kunst in einer Abendschule studierte, die Nächte waren warm und die Schule langweilig so blieb ich bei einer „Late-Show“, die immer ein Doppelprogramm spielte. Hier unter den anderen Delinquenten war das Paradies mein. “Horror on the Campus” und “I was a Teen-Aged Werewolf” waren sehr gut besucht. Vierzehn Jahre später saß ich mit meinem guten Freund John Sinclair zusammen, der seit der Zeit ein erfolgreicher Plattenproduzent ist, (und ich kannte ihn auch noch, als er schon jemand war) und wir diskutierten über den Gedanken, eine Show zu schreiben die wir dann auch selbst besuchen wollten. Wir wollten sie zusammen schreiben. Es sollte eine Kollektion aller Dinge sein, die Leute aufbrausen ließen. Lass es uns tun sagte John und verschwand prompt um Sarm Recording Studios zu eröffnen. Sitzen gelassen, saß ich nachts zu Hause, schrieb Songs und Dialoge. Einige vier Monate später hatte ich das Glück mit Jim Sharman und Brian Thomson zusammenzuarbeiten, die zwei australischen Zauberer die ȁJesus Christ Superstar” zu einem Bühnenhit in London und Australien machten. Das Stück, das wir zusammen machten hieß “The Unseen Hand” geschrieben von dem wunderbaren Sam Shepard. Ich sollte die Rolle des “Willie the Space Freak” spielen.

Während den Proben erwähnte ich zu Jim und Brian, dass ich an einem Rock-Horror Musical schrieb, das sehr amüsant für mich war und ich fügte hinzu, dass es auch so für sie sein könnte. Ich hatte keinen Zweifel an ihrem Talent. Ich wusste, dass sie dachten, dass ich gut war, denn sie casteten mich schließlich für das Stück, das wir zusammen machten. Unverfrorene Naivität ist ein gutes Einstellungsmerkmal (einmal).

An einer Glück verheißenden Nacht nach einer Probe, Regisseur Jim, brachte Richard Hartley vorbei, der an ein paar Toons für uns in Unseen Hand arbeitete. Richard war enthusiastisch im Taxi. Ich kann mich erinnern dass er sagte, “Oh nicht schon wieder ein Rock-Musical”. Nun war ich da, mit meinen beschmierten paar Seiten und meiner geliebten Levin Gitarre, bei der Prüfung. Ich sang die Ouvertüre, “Science Fiction” und ich erröte wenn ich das sage, aber ich musste ihn dort und da noch ein paar mal singen, und als ich mit dem (dann) schwachen Text fertig war, musste ich den Song nochmals singen.

Wir eröffneten für eine Fünf-Wochen-Saison beim “Theatre Upstairs” im “Royal Court”, und deshalb vielen Dank dem brillanten Ensemble, Sue Blane’s Kostümdesign, Brian Thomson’s Set, Richard Hartley’s Arrangements und Jim Sharman’s Regie. Wir waren immer ausverkauft und der Rest ist Geschichte.

Mein Dank an alle, die bei der Show abgehen ist unendlich. Da ist kein Zweifel von meinen Seiten daran, dass rockige Freaks die normalsten Wahnsinnigen auf der Welt sind...oder anderen Planeten ????????? Gut, das ist Information für Priveligierte

Euer, bis sie kommen und uns abholen

Richard O’Brien